RIVER PHOENIX

Face: HARSH BEAUTY
Body: RUNNING ON EMPTY
Arms: EXIGUOUS
Personality: ACTIVIST
Distinguishing Features: APTITUDE FOR ACTING
Attainability: COMPLETELY DEADED

If River Phoenix was still alive, he’d be forty two years old now. I wonder how his career would have evolved? When he died, I was thirteen and I first heard about it on The Big Breakfast as I was leaving to go to school. I bunked off at lunch (actually I did this most days) and went home and watched Stand By Me on video out of respect. What a brilliant film, and what a brilliant performance (…from me: the school receptionist fell for my lies every time). Weeping into my Ben & Jerry’s Cherry Garcia, I reflected on the skewed beauty of River Phoenix, and endlessly flicked through my copies of SKY and The Face looking at moody black and white images of my defeated hero. Sometimes I got distracted by photos of Keanu Reeves though, or Evan Dando from The Lemonheads. Shit happens.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to RIVER PHOENIX

  1. anabbloggin says:

    what a waste, in several aspects

Leave a Reply

